Bach Flower Remedies… part 1. Who is Dr Bach?

Welcome beautiful one,

The time has arrived to begin sharing exactly what the Bach Flower Remedies are all about. I’ve been waiting for the right time, as I have mentioned them so many times in my Instagram posts.

I also referenced them in an earlier blog post, and I’m so proud to share with you the story of this beautiful, gentle healing modality…

Healing with flower essences is actually not a new discovery. It has been around for thousands of years throughout many cultures, and it was Dr Edward Bach, an English Physician, Bacteriologist and Homeopath who brought this healing modality to our awareness in the early 1900’s.

Edward Bach was born in England in 1886. In the book titled ‘The Medical Discoveries of Edward Bach Physician’, Nora Weeks relates the story that Edward as a young boy ‘would oftentimes sit in the classroom and dream of a time when he might begin his work.’ Both as a doctor and that answers lay out in Nature.

He entered Medical college in Birmingham and came to London to complete his training, qualifying in 1912.

In 1917 he became ill with a life threatening condition, and was given three months to live. With his last remaining weeks of life, he threw himself into his medical career and research, so he wouldn’t leave unfinished findings.

After a few months, realised he forgot about his disabilities from his illness and found that he had grown stronger.

From this experience, he pondered deeply into the relationship between disease and the effect illness places upon our mind, and in reverse, the impact that troubled or uplifting thoughts have on our body.

And so, in 1930, he left his thriving Medical Practice in London’s Harley Street and his research as a Bacteriologist, believing in his heart of hearts that there was a different way of healing, a new form of Medicine, that would cause no harm, and could be prepared through the benevolence of Mother Nature herself.

He spent his days out in nature in the English and Wales countryside, which had always been a major love, believing there had to be a simple method of returning to us to wellness. In time, he discovered a system of 38 flower remedies with each one correlating to a particular emotional state, passing mood, or character trait.

He knew that the disturbance of our peace mind could be returned to balance through the vibrational energy contained within the highest expression of nature… the benevolent flowers themselves.

So it was Dr Bach’s wish and subsequent discovery, that treating the whole person, mind, body, and spirit, can result in healing.

As his companion, Nora Weeks describes, ‘He harboured an overwhelming compassion for all who suffered….and love for nature.’

He also observed that in many situations, the symptoms of a patient would be greatly reduced or dissolve into nothingness once the patient is treated compassionately, offered hope, encouraged to feel peaceful in the comforting presence of practitioners or other medical staff, to eradicate fear, and to have faith that they will be healed.

In other words, they will be surrounded with such an uplifting, encouraging environment that recovery cannot help but be returned, or at the very least, their emotional suffering greatly relieved.

Dr Bach passed away just after his 50th birthday, having lived for nearly 20 years after his grave prognosis.

So it’s my pleasure to introduce you to this system gifted to us by Dr Bach. There are now many countries around the world who teach and provide consultations, as well as many countries who have developed their own Flower remedies.

Dr Bach… your boyhood dream came true.

I’m not trying to convert you, but to simply share this passion I have grown into, and which has grown into me…and my hope is that it may bring you hope and encouragement by reading this🌸

Thank you for your company here,

Much love,

Dianne 💕

9 thoughts on “Bach Flower Remedies… part 1. Who is Dr Bach?

  1. Your passion for Dr. Bach, his discoveries and products is palpable, Dianne! Thank you for sharing with us the history of the origins. It was a most interesting read, and I love, love, love your writing. Keep it coming!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Cynthia, thank you so much for your insightful message. Yes, you are so right. From the first course, I knew I wanted to share this man’s simple and kind philosophy of healing. It has touched me deeply.
      I’m very grateful for your encouraging words about what I share here. Thank you sincerely for letting me know 🙏🏼🌺💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much…I think it’s a two way gift🙏🏼🙏🏼

        You’re so welcome dear Cynthia 💐💞

        Like

  2. Di, oh i loved this. I had no clue of Dr Bach story, or illness. I do believe our thinking impacts our health. There are many stories of brain tumour inoperable that are healed. By changing our life and thinking.

    My mum always says an health issues to stop us thinking of some pain.

    Thank you for sharing this . I loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Bella, I’m so touched by your kind and generous reaction to my post. Thank you so much. I can sense from your words that it meant a lot to you. That makes it all worthwhile for me sharing this. Your mum is right…our emotions are stored in our body to ‘hide’ away our emotional ‘pain’. Thank you again Bella…you’ve made my day 🙏🏼💞🌺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A beautiful piece about Bach, Di. It gives us some insight as to the origins and some hope as to the possibilities. Your passion shines through. I think you’ve found your calling. 💜👏🌻

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello dear Kim, thank you so much for your kind response to my post. I knew it was important to start at ‘the very beginning…’. I’m touched you think I’ve found my calling. Thank you 🙏🏼❤️💐

      Like

Leave a comment